A Decentralizing Concept of the Museums

The redesign of Sachsenhausen Memorial encompasses an overall decentralizing concept, giving visitors the opportunity to learn about the history of the places within the authentic surroundings. The remnants of buildings and other relics of the camp, will be put into the focus of the presentation and combined with an explanatory historical documentation on its history. Eleven of the planned thirteen permanent exhibitions currently on display show further unique aspects of the history of Sachsenhausen that are directly connected to the places they are shown.

All exhibitions are in German an English except for No. 37 which is in German only.

(The numbers are related to the map of the memorial site.)
 

7. Commandant's House

History of the SS Command Staff – 1936-1945
(in preparation)
 

8. New Museum

Oranienburg Concentration Camp – 1933-34

On 21st March 1933, local SA stormtroopers took over a disused brewery in middle of the town of Oranienburg and set up the first concentration camp in the state of Prussia. Over 3,000 prisoners, mostly political opponents of the National Socialists, were humiliated and maltreated there; some of them were even murdered. The exhibition uses artwork, artefacts, documents, films and audio clips to show how tactics of public intimidation rapidly developed into a state-organised concentration camp system.

8. New Museum

From Memory to Monument – 1950-1990

Films, audio clips, artwork, plans and numerous artefacts illustrate the story of the memorial site, from the first acts of remembrance after 1945 to inauguration as one of the GDR's National Memorials in 1961, continuing up to German reunification in 1989. The exhibition examines the sweeping changes made to the historical substance by East German architects and planners, as well as key aspects of the political instrumentalisation of antifascism.

10. Entrance to the Prisoners’ Camp "Tower A"

Organisation of the Concentration Camp – 1936-1945
(in preparation)
 

15. Barrack 38

Jewish Prisoners in Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp 1936-1945

Barracks 38 and 39 were part of the 'Small Camp'. It was there that the SS incarcerated Sachsenhausen’s Jewish prisoners from November 1938 to October 1942. An anti-Semitic firebomb attack in 1992 destroyed parts of both barracks. The new Museum Barrack 38 tells the story of Jewish prisoners in Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp, with the aid of prisoner's biographies.

Further information

16. Barrack 39

The 'Everyday Life' of Prisoners in Sachsenhausen 1936-1945

In Barrack 39, the 'everyday life' of prisoners in Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp is presented thematically in a multi-media environment. Twenty different prisoners each relate their personal experiences under the headings: ‘Roads to Sachsenhausen’, ‘Prison Society’, ‘Work’, ‘Time and Space’, ‘Violence, Dying and Death’ and ‘Living with the Memory’.

Further information

17. Prison

The Prison within the Concentration Camp 1936-1945

Put up by inmates in 1936, this three-wing block of cells was used as a prison by the Gestapo and the camp authorities. It was a place veiled in secrecy, a place of torment and murder. It held those punished by the SS for infringements of camp discipline as well as prominent figures arrested by the Gestapo. The exhibition is housed in five original cells of the one remaining wing of the cell block.

Further information

22. Prisoners’ Kitchen

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp 1936-1945. Events and Developments

Located in what was once the prisoners' kitchen, the exhibition focuses on key events in the history of Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp, illustrating changes and continuities and examining phases and breaks. On the walls of the cellar, in which potatoes were peeled, remarkable paintings from the eras of the concentration camp and the Soviet Special Camp can still be seen. A twenty-minute film, shown in a separate room, relates what happened in Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp to broader historical developments between 1933 and 1945.

24. Camp Wall near "Station Z"

Murder and Mass Murder in the Concentration Camp 1936-1945

The exhibition deals with the history of the site, as well as the concentration camp's various facilities for killing people. In concentrates on separate planned acts of murder and mass murder, including the shooting of more than 10,000 Soviet prisoners-of-war in the autumn of 1941.

29. Tower E

The Town and the Camp – 1936-1945

At the northern end of the camp triangle is Tower E. It houses a small exhibition about various aspects of the relationship between Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp and the surrounding area: the town of Oranienburg and the parish of Sachsenhausen.

Further information

31. Soviet Special Camp Museum

The Soviet Special Camp No. 7 / No. 1 in Sachsenhausen 1945-1950

Between 1945 and 1950, the Soviet secret services held a total of around 60,000 people in the core area of the former concentration camp. The museum, which is housed in a new purpose-built exhibition space and two remaining original barracks, documents the history of the Special Camp and the fate of its inmates, at least 12,000 of whom died from hunger and disease.

Further information

34. Infirmary Barracks

Medical Care and Crime in the Concentration Camp 1936-1945

The original barracks R I and R II of the infirmary date from when the concentration camp was set up. The "Medical Care and Crime" exhibition examines various aspects of the subject, from medical care to medical experiments on prisoners and the murder of patients. A section is devoted to the men and women who, after the attempt to kill Hitler on 20th July 1944, were brought to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp. The role played by Sachsenhausen as a showcase to impress visiting groups from within Germany and abroad is also highlighted.

Further information

37. T-Building

System of Terror: the Concentration Camps Inspectorate

Only a few hundred metres away from today's memorial site, there stands the building that, between 1938 and 1945, housed the administrative headquarters of the entire concentration camp system. The men who sat behind desks in the Inspectorate played a significant part in planning and perpetrating crimes against humanity. It was they who determined conditions of imprisonment, coordinated forced labour and organised mass murder. The exhibition is in a room which has remained largely unaltered since it served as the bureau for the head of the entire concentration camp system.

Dauerausstellungen

DEZENTRALES MUSEUMSKONZEPT

Die Neugestaltung der Gedenkstätte Sachsenhausen folgt einem dezentralen Gesamtkonzept, das den Besuchern die Geschichte an den authentischen Orten erfahrbar machen soll. Dabei werden die erhaltenen Gebäude und Relikte des Lagers in den Mittelpunkt der Darstellung gerückt und mit einer erklärenden historischen Dokumentation zur Geschichte des Ortes verbunden. 13 dezentrale Dauerausstellungen, von denen derzeit 10 realisiert sind, thematisieren darüber hinaus einzelne Aspekte der Geschichte von Sachsenhausen, die mit dem Ort ihrer Präsentation verknüpft sind.

(Die Nummerierung bezieht sich auf den Lageplan.)

7. Kommandantenhaus

ARBEITSTEILIGE TÄTERSCHAFT. DIE LAGER-SS 1936-1945

Mehr Information

8. Neues Museum

KZ ORANIENBURG 1933/34

In einer ehemaligen Brauerei mitten in der Stadt Oranienburg richtete die örtliche SA am 21. März 1933 das erste Konzentrationslager in Preußen ein. Über 3000 Häftlinge, vor allem politische Gegner der Nationalsozialisten, wurden dort gedemütigt und misshandelt, einige sogar ermordet. Die Ausstellung zeigt anhand von Kunstwerken, Gegenständen, Dokumenten, Filmen und Hörbeispielen den raschen Übergang vom Straßenterror zum staatlich organisierten KZ-System.

Mehr Information

8. Neues Museum

VON DER ERINNERUNG ZUM MONUMENT 1950-1990

Die mit Filmen, Hörbeispielen, Kunstwerken, Plänen und zahlreichen Gegenständen bestückte Ausstellung thematisiert die Geschichte der Gedenkstätte, von den ersten Anfängen des Gedenkens nach 1945 über die Einweihung als Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte 1961 bis zur deutschen Einheit 1989. Sie zeigt die von den Architekten und Gestaltern der DDR vorgenommenen erheblichen Veränderungen des historischen Ortes ebenso wie wichtige Aspekte des politisch instrumentalisierten Antifaschismus.

Mehr Information

10. Turm A

DIE KONZENTRATIONSLAGER-SS 1936-1945: EXZESS- UND DIREKTTÄTER

Im Turm A hatte die "Abteilung III (Schutzhaftlager)" der KZ-Kommandantur ihren Sitz. Deren Angehörige übten die unmittelbare Herrschaftsgewalt über die Häftlinge aus. Ihre Tätigkeit wird in der Ausstellung dargestellt, wobei ausgewählte Exzesstaten und die Tatbeteiligten - von den SS-Blockführern bis zum Reichsführer SS - im Mittelpunkt stehen. Außerdem wird die besondere architektonische Konzeption des KZ Sachsenhausen thematisiert, in der sich der totale Herrschaftsanspruch der SS spiegelte.

Mehr Information

15. Baracke 38

JÜDISCHE HÄFTLINGE IM KZ SACHSENHAUSEN 1936-1945

Die Baracken 38 und 39 gehörten zum "kleinen Lager". Dort pferchte die SS zwischen November 1938 und Oktober 1942 alle jüdischen Häftlinge zusammen. 1992 zerstörte ein antisemitischer Brandanschlag Teile der beiden Baracken. Im neu erbauten "Museum Baracke 38" wird die Geschichte der jüdischen Häftlinge im KZ Sachsenhausen u. a. an exemplarischen Lebensläufen veranschaulicht.

Mehr Information

16. Baracke 39

DER 'ALLTAG' DER HÄFTLINGE IM KZ SACHSENHAUSEN 1936-1945

In der Baracke 39 thematisiert die vorwiegend medial gestaltete Ausstellung das tägliche Erleben der Häftlinge des KZ Sachsenhausen. Zwanzig exemplarisch ausgewählte KZ-Häftlinge berichten über ihre individuellen Erfahrungen, über "Wege nach Sachsenhausen", "die Häftlingsgesellschaft", "Arbeit", "Raum und Zeit", "Gewalt, Sterben und Tod" sowie über das "Leben mit der Erinnerung".

Mehr Information

17. Zellenbau

DER ZELLENBAU DES KZ SACHSENHAUSEN 1936-1945

Das 1936 von KZ-Häftlingen errichtete Gebäude diente als Gestapo- und Lagergefängnis. Es war ein von Geheimnissen umgebener Ort grausamer Misshandlungen und Morde. Im Zellenbau vollstreckte die SS nicht nur die Lagerstrafen, sondern inhaftierte dort auch besonders prominente Häftlinge. Die Dokumentation befindet sich in fünf Zellen im einzigen erhaltenen Trakt der ursprünglich dreiflügeligen Gefängnisanlage.

Mehr Information

22. Häftlingsküche

DAS KONZENTRATIONSLAGER SACHSENHAUSEN 1936-1945. EREIGNISSE UND ENTWICKLUNGEN

Die Ausstellung in der ehemaligen Häftlingsküche beleuchtet zentrale Ereignisse aus der Geschichte des KZ Sachsenhausen, sie veranschaulicht Veränderungen und Kontinuitäten, Phasen und Zäsuren. Im Untergeschoss, dem ehemaligen Kartoffelschälkeller, sind eindrucksvolle Wandmalereien aus der Zeit des Konzentrationslagers und des sowjetischen Speziallagers zu sehen. Ein 20minütiger Film, der in einem separaten Kinoraum gezeigt wird, verknüpft die Geschehnisse im KZ Sachsenhausen mit der allgemeinen historischen Entwicklung zwischen 1933 und 1945.

Mehr Information

24. Lagermauer an der "Station Z"

MORD UND MASSENMORD IM KZ SACHSENHAUSEN 1936-1945

Die Dokumentation informiert sowohl über die Geschichte des Ortes als auch über die verschiedenen Anlagen des Konzentrationslagers zur Ermordung von Menschen. Vor allem werden einzelne Mord- und Massenmordaktionen dargestellt, darunter auch die Erschießung von mehr als 10.000 sowjetischen Kriegsgefangenen im Herbst 1941.

29. Turm E

DIE STADT UND DAS LAGER 1936-1945

An der nördlichen Spitze des Lagerdreiecks befindet sich der Turm E. Hier informiert eine kleine Ausstellung über die vielfältigen Beziehungen zwischen dem KZ Sachsenhausen und der Stadt Oranienburg bzw. der Gemeinde Sachsenhausen.

Mehr Information

31. Museum "Sowjetisches Speziallager"

DAS SOWJETISCHE SPEZIALLAGER Nr. 7 / Nr. 1 IN SACHSENHAUSEN 1945-1950

Im Kernbereich des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers hielt der sowjetische Geheimdienst in den Jahren 1945 bis 1950 etwa 60.000 Menschen gefangen. Das Museum dokumentiert in einem neu errichteten Ausstellungsgebäude sowie in zwei erhaltenen Originalbaracken die Geschichte des Speziallagers und das Schicksal der Inhaftierten, von denen mindestens 12.000 an Hunger und Krankheiten verstarben.

Mehr Information

34. Krankenrevierbaracken

MEDIZIN UND VERBRECHEN 1936-1945

Die original erhaltenen Baracken R I und R II des Krankenreviers stammen aus der Entstehungszeit des Konzentrationslagers. Die Ausstellung "Medizin und Verbrechen" beleuchtet verschiedene Aspekte des Themas - von der medizinischen Versorgung über medizinische Versuchen mit KZ-Häftlingen bis hin zum Krankenmord. Ein Abschnitt ist den Männern und Frauen gewidmet, die nach dem Hitler-Attentat vom 20. Juli 1944 in das KZ Sachsenhausen verschleppt wurden. Außerdem wird die Rolle des KZ Sachsenhausen als bevorzugter Ort für Besichtigungen durch in- und ausländische Besuchergruppen thematisiert.

Mehr Information

37. T-Gebäude

DIE ZENTRALE DES KZ-TERRORS: DIE INSPEKTION DER KONZENTRATIONSLAGER 1934-1945. EINE AUSSTELLUNG AM HISTORISCHEN ORT

Wenige hundert Meter vor der heutigen Gedenkstätte entfernt, befand sich 1938-1945 die Verwaltungszentrale des gesamten KZ-Systems. Die Schreibtischtäter der "Inspektion" waren maßgeblich an der Planung und Ausführung der Verbrechen beteiligt. Sie bestimmten über die Haftbedingungen, koordinierten die Zwangsarbeit und organisierten den Massenmord. Seit Oktober 2013 informiert eine neue Dauerausstellung in den weitgehen original erhaltenen Räumen der KZ-Inspektion über die Geschichte dieser SS-Behörde.

Mehr Information