The renovation of barracks 38 included the partial conservation of the damage caused by the fire. The room inside has been extended and now includes a cellar and damaged parts of the barracks have been conserved behind glass and made into an exhibit in the museum. They also mark the bridge between the restored old barracks and the new part.
The main theme of the exhibition is the life and the history of the persecution of Jewish prisoners in Sachsenhausen and this four part exhibition charts the anti-Semitic politics of the National Socialist regime and the increasing terror faced by the prisoners in Sachsenhausen concentration camp.

The exhibition was designed by Prof. HG Merz and fully uses the space of the two storey barracks. The ground floor marks the beginning of the war and the following increase in the National Socialist persecution of the Jews.
 

 

The exhibition chronologically maps the years 1936 - 1945 and contains display cabinets which describe the historical events and constant refer to the lives of 23 ex-prisoners. The museum also displays relevant material and portrays the biographies of 74 ex-prisoners.

 
 
On display are photos, films, objects, drawings and documents on a space of around 200m², from the personal collections of ex-prisoners and visitors can listen to prisoners describing their lives on numerous recordings. It is this portrayal of a prisoner's individual experiences that gives depth to the factual information covering the National socialists' politics of persecution.
The beginnings: until the start of the war
(1936 - 1939)

The ground floor follows the history of some of the Jewish prisoners, which were imprisoned between 1936 and 1938 - the politically or socially persecuted - and includes those who fell victim to the 'Nuremberg Racial Laws'. It was during the November pogrom of 1938, that the first mass arrests solely due to racial or ideological reasons occurred. Prisoners from northern, central and eastern Germany, from Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig and Frankfurt/Oder arrived in Sachsenhausen.
 
The start of the war until deportation
(1932 - 1942)

Since the 1 September 1939, the Jews were also the victims of continually worsening prison conditions and abuse. The camp SS carried out mass executions of Jewish prisoners and in 1942 the Jewish blocks were deported to Auschwitz.

 
Jewish prisoners as part of the specialist kommandos (1942 - 1945)

Between 1942 and 1945, as the National Socialists carried out the genocide of the European Jews in occupied eastern Europe, Sachsenhausen's Jewish prisoners were forced to work. At this time there were relatively few Jews left in the camp and those still remaining worked in specialist kommandos recycling the personal belongings, passports, shoes, clothes and valuables of the deported and murdered.
 
The direction of deportation is reversed (1944 - 1945)

With the foreseeable defeat of the German Reich, beginning with the middle of 1944 the direction of the transports changed. Thousands of Polish, Czech, Slovak and Hungarian Jews were transported directly from their home countries or the death camps, to the sub-camps of Sachsenhausen. Until the liberation in April and May 1945, the National Socialists sped up the extermination of the European Jews. Even in the last few week of the war, they murdered thousands, in the sub-camps, during the death marches and in Sachsenhausen's industry yard death camp.
 

Baracke 38 - Innenansicht Aufenthalts- und SchlafraumBaracke 38 - Innenansicht Ausstellungsraum Bild 1Baracke 38 - Teilansicht der AusstellungsflächeBaracke 38 - Foto einer VitrineBaracke 38 - Teilansicht der Ausstellungswände

Der Neubau des Museums "Baracke 38" nimmt im Außenbau die schlichte Form des zerstörten Barackenflügels auf. Der Innenraum wurde durch ein Kellergeschoss räumlich erweitert. Die durch Glaswände geschützten Spuren des Brandanschlages sind als Exponat in die Ausstellung integriert und markieren zugleich den Übergang zum restaurierten Altbau der Baracke.
Im Zentrum der Ausstellung steht die Lebens- und Verfolgungsgeschichte jüdischer Häftlinge des KZ Sachsenhausen. Die in vier Phasen gegliederte Ausstellung dokumentiert die antisemitische Politik des NS-Regimes und den sich steigernden Terror im KZ Sachsenhausen.
Die Ausstellungsgestaltung von Prof. HG Merz greift die Zweigeschossigkeit des Gebäudes auf. Der räumliche Abstieg in das Untergeschoss markiert zugleich den Kriegsbeginn und die damit verbundene Radikalisierung der nationalsozialistischen Judenverfolgung.
Die auf den Zeitraum von 1936 bis 1945 begrenzte Chronologie wird immer wieder vertikal biographischen Vitrinen durchbrochen. Sie veranschaulichen die historischen Ereignisse anhand von 23 exemplarischen Lebensläufen. In die Vitrinen eingelassene Schubfächer halten vertiefenden Materialien bereit. Insgesamt werden in der Ausstellung 74 Biographien ehemaliger Häftlinge thematisiert.
Auf rund 200 qm werden Fotos, Filme, Objekte, Zeichnungen und Dokumente gezeigt, die vielfach aus dem persönlichen Besitz ehemaliger Häftlinge stammen. Deren Lebensgeschichte können sich die Besucher an zahlreichen Hörstationen von ihnen selbst erzählen lassen. Vor dem Hintergrund der individuellen Erfahrung einzelner Häftlinge gewinnen die sachlichen Informationen über die nationalsozialistische Verfolgungspolitik eine große Eindringlichkeit.
Anfänge bis Kriegsbeginn (1936-1939)

Im Erdgeschoss wird zunächst die Geschichte einzelner jüdischer Häftlinge dargestellt, die zwischen 1936 und 1938 als politisch oder sozial Verfolgte sowie als Opfer der Nürnberger Rassengesetze inhaftiert waren. Mit dem Novemberpogrom 1938 kam es zu ersten Massenverhaftungen aus ausschließlich rasseideologischen Gründen. Häftlinge aus dem nord-, mittel- und ostdeutschen Raum, aus Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig und Frankfurt/Oder kamen nach Sachsenhausen.
Kriegsbeginn bis Deportation (1939-1942)

Seit dem 1. September 1939 waren auch die Juden in Sachsenhausen sich ständig verschärfenden Haftbedingungen und Misshandlungen ausgesetzt. Die Lager-SS führte einzelne Massenmordaktionen an jüdischen Häftlingen durch. Die jüdischen Blocks blieben bis zur Deportation nach Auschwitz 1942 bestehen.
Jüdische Häftlinge in Spezialistenkommandos (1942-1945)

Zwischen 1942 und 1945, während die Nationalsozialisten im besetzten Osteuropa den Völkermord an den europäischen Juden durchführten, mussten jüdische Häftlinge des KZ Sachsenhausen Zwangsarbeit leisten.
Zunächst gab es hier nur noch wenige jüdische Häftlinge. Sie waren in Spezialistenkommandos eingesetzt und mussten z.B. persönliche Dinge, Ausweise, Schuhe, Bekleidungs- und Wertgegenstände der Deportierten und Ermordeten weiterverwerten.
Umkehr der Deportationsrichtung (1944/45)

Mit der sich abzeichnenden Niederlage des Deutschen Reiches ab Mitte 1944 kehrte sich die Richtung der Deportationen allmählich um. Tausende polnischer, tschechischer, slowakischer und ungarischer Juden wurden aus ihren Heimatländern oder direkt aus den Vernichtungslagern in das KZ Sachsenhausen transportiert. Sie kamen vor allem in die Außenlager. Bis zur Befreiung im April und Mai 1945 setzten die Nationalsozialisten die Vernichtung des europäischen Judentums fort. Noch in den letzten Wochen ermordeten sie Tausende: in den Außenlagern, auf den Todesmärschen und in den Vernichtungsanlagen des auf dem Industriehof von Sachsenhausen.

Baracke 38 - Innenansicht Aufenthalts- und SchlafraumBaracke 38 - Innenansicht Ausstellungsraum Bild 1Baracke 38 - Teilansicht der AusstellungsflächeBaracke 38 - Foto einer VitrineBaracke 38 - Teilansicht der Ausstellungswände