The new entrance and visitor guides

During the renovation of the old armoury, the entrance to the lager - actually built in 1961 - was also renovated. Planned by Prof. HG Merz (Stuttgart/Berlin) the site of the old camp wall is marked with modern fibreglass and cement panels and visitors enter the site through openings in these panels.

The entrance to the East German memorial has been closed and is now used to display memorial plaques. Since April 2004, visitors enter the site via the original camp street and so follow the historical route of the prisoners. Entering on this axis point focuses the visitor's view once again on 'Tower A' as the SS architects had intended - 'Tower A' was the entrance building to the prisoner's camp. After the East German redesigning of the monument the visitor's view was focussed onto the new museum.

A new visitor tour begins in the visitor information centre and guides visitors through the entire site of the memorial. It marks the 13 exhibitions and museums distributed throughout the site as well as the 37 points on the visitor's tour.

The points on the tour enable a visitor-friendly orientation through the site and help visitors to find further information in flyers and on the audio-guides.
 

Further information:

New design
Planning the project
Visitor information centre
The new entrance and visitor guides
The central place of remembrance 'Station Z'
The design of the grounds

Eingangssituation und Besucherleitsystem

Im Zuge des Ausbaus der ehemaligen Waffenmeisterei zum Besucherinformationszentrum wurde auch der 1961 künstlich geschaffene Zugang zur Gedenkstätte völlig neu gestaltet. Nach den Entwürfen des Büros Prof. HG Merz Architekten (Stuttgart/Berlin) markieren moderne Glasfaserbetontafeln den Verlauf der historischen Lagermauer. Die Besucher betreten die Gedenkstätte durch die Öffnungen zwischen den Tafeln.

Der Zugang der DDR- Gedenkstätte wurde stillgelegt und dient zur Anbringung individueller Gedenktafeln. Die Besucher betreten die Gedenkstätte seit April 2004 über die historische Lagerstraße und gehen damit den Weg, auf dem die meisten Häftlinge das Lager betreten haben. Am historischen Lagereingang wird die Blickachse, die von den Gedenkstättengestaltern der DDR auf das Neue Museum fokussiert war, auf den "Turm A", das Eingangsgebäude des Häftlingslagers und damit auf den historischen Ort gelenkt.

Ein neues Besucherleitsystem, das im Besucherinformationszentrum beginnt, begleitet den Besucher durch das weitläufige Gelände der Gedenkstätte. Es markiert die 13 über das Gelände verteilten Standorte der historischen Ausstellungen und Museen sowie die 37 Stationen eines Besucherrundgangs.

Die Stelen und Tafeln des Leitsystems ermöglichen eine besucherfreundliche Orientierung im Gelände. Nummern verweisen auf weiterführende Informationen in einem Faltblatt bzw. auf die Zahlencodes der Audioführung.

Weitere Informationen:

Neugestaltung
Zielplanung
Besucherinformationszentrum
Eingangssituation und Besucherleitsystem
Zentraler Gedenkort "Station Z"
Flächengestaltung