New design

The government's special investment programme for Sachsenhausen museum and memorial.

An agreement between the Federal Chancellor Gerhard Schröder and Minister President Manfred Stolpe lead the German Bundestag to provide €9,7 million over a four your period for the refurbishment of Sachsenhausen memorial and museum. The total costs of Sachsenhausen's redevelopment will come to €14,4 million with the Bundesagentur für Arbeit contributing €3,36 million and the European Union €709,000.

The visitor information centre was opened in April 2004 and the redesigning of the entrance area should be completed by September. A new information system will complement the site, museums and exhibitions.
 

Modellfoto der "Station Z"
Photo: The model of 'Station Z' (Modell Photo: Prof. HG Merz Architekten)

In the spring of 2004 work began to redesign 'Station Z' - the central place of remembrance. It will be opened in April 2005 during the 60th anniversary of the liberation of the prisoners from Sachsenhausen concentration camp and Prof. HG Merz has designed a building to protect and house remains collected from the crematorium and 'Station Z'.

In summer 2004 the site where the prisoner's barracks were situated is due to be redeveloped and the exact site of each barracks will be excavated and marked to highlight the historical topography of Sachsenhausen concentration camp. The new planning is based on a sketch by Prof. HG Merz, the winner of the architect's prize in 1998.

For the duration of the works, the exhibition 'return to the historical site', on display in the camp kitchen, will provide information on the plans.

Further information:

New design
Planning the project
Visitor information centre
The new entrance and visitor guides
The central place of remembrance 'Station Z'
The design of the grounds

Neugestaltung

Sonderinvestitionsprogramm des Bundes für die Gedenkstätte und das Museum Sachsenhausen

Aufgrund einer Absprache zwischen Bundeskanzler Gerhard Schröder und Ministerpräsident Manfred Stolpe hat der Deutsche Bundestag 2000 beschlossen, in einem Zeitraum von vier Jahren zusätzlich rund 9,7 Mio. € für die Sanierung der Gedenkstätte und des Museums Sachsenhausen bereit zu stellen. Das Gesamtvolumen der Maßnahmen beläuft sich auf 14,4 Mio. €. Die zusätzlichen Mittel stammen von der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (3,36 Mio. €) und von der Europäischen Union (709.000 €).

Bereits im April 2004 wurde das neue Besucherinformationszentrum eröffnet. Die Neugestaltung des Eingangsbereiches soll im September fertig gestellt sein.
Ein neues Informationsleitsystem wird den Besuchern das weitläufige Gelände und die dezentralen Museen und Ausstellungen erschließen.

Modellfoto der "Station Z"
„Station Z“ (Modell Foto: Prof. HG Merz Architekten)

Im Frühjahr 2004 wurde mit der Neugestaltung des zentralen Gedenkortes „Station Z“ begonnen. Er soll zum 60. Jahrestag der Befreiung der Häftlinge des KZ Sachsenhausen im April 2005 eingeweiht werden. Nach dem Entwurf von Prof. HG Merz werden die Überreste des ehemaligen Krematoriums und des Vernichtungsortes „Station Z“ durch eine freitragende Halle dauerhaft vor Witterung und Zerfall geschützt.

Im Sommer 2004 beginnt die Gestaltung der Freiflächen des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers, wo die Standorte der Baracken durch Bodenvertiefungen markiert werden. Durch dieses Bodenrelief soll die historische Topographie des als Modellager entworfenen KZ Sachsenhausen wieder lesbar gemacht werden. Die Neugestaltung basiert auf dem Entwurf des Preisträgers Prof. HG Merz, der 1998 durch einen internationalen Architektenwettbewerb ermittelt wurde.

Für die Dauer der Bauarbeiten informiert die Ausstellung „Rückkehr zum historischen Ort“ in der ehemaligen Lagerküche über die Sanierungsprojekte.
 

Weitere Informationen:

Neugestaltung
Zielplanung
Besucherinformationszentrum
Eingangssituation und Besucherleitsystem
Zentraler Gedenkort "Station Z"
Flächengestaltung