The concentration camp inspectorate 1938 - 1945

Between 1938 and 1945, the main 'concentration camp inspectorate' was located in the 'T-building', part of the concentration camp in Oranienburg. The inspectorate was an administrative centre responsible for all of the concentration camps throughout Germany and the occupied countries. The so-called 'T-building', named after the shape of its foundations, was built by prisoners held in Sachsenhausen. The construction of the administrative centre increased immensely the importance of Sachsenhausen as a centre of SS terror and added to the central role it played in the concentration camp system.

The members of the SS 'inspectorate' were responsible for the implementation of the holocaust on the European Jews and the genocide of the Sinti and Roma. They co-ordinated the mass murder of Soviet prisoners and the systematic killing of sick prisoners in the concentration camps. All mass killings and even the killing of every individual prisoner, was registered in this building. The people behind the 'inspectorate' assigned the prisoners starvation rations, forced labour and punishments. It was here that the systematic terror in the camps was bureaucratically planned. Beginning in 1942, the inspectorate organised forced labour in the concentration camps for the weapons industry, the exploitation of prisoners and their 'extermination by work'.

Until 1990 the 'T-building' was used by the East German Nationale Volksarmee. Today the building is mainly used by Oranienburg's finance offices. Since 1993 the Stiftung Brandenburgische Gedenkst├Ątten have also had their offices there. An exhibition, ' The Concentration Camp Inspectorate 1938-1945 - The System of Terror', describes the history of the building and the function of the inspectorate, in the rooms of the old inspector - Theodor Eicke.

Die "Inspektion der Konzentrationslager" in Oranienburg
(1938 bis 1945)

In Oranienburg befand sich zwischen 1938 und 1945 die "Inspektion der Konzentrationslager", die Verwaltungszentrale der SS für sämtliche Konzentrationslager im deutschen Machtbereich. Das wegen seines dreiflügligen Grundrisses so genannten "T-Gebäude" wurde 1938 von Häftlingen des Konzentrationslagers Sachsenhausen errichtet. Nicht zuletzt als Standort dieser bedeutenden Institution des SS-Terrors nehmen Oranienburg und das KZ Sachsenhausen einen besonderen Stellenwert innerhalb des KZ-Systems ein.

Die SS-Bediensteten der "Inspektion" waren maßgeblich an der Durchführung des Völkermordes an den europäischen Juden und am Genozid an den Sinti und Roma beteiligt. Sie koordinierten den Massenmord an den sowjetischen Kriegsgefangenen in den Konzentrationslagern und die systematische Ermordung kranker Häftlinge. Alle Massenmorde, aber auch jeder einzelne tote Häftling, wurden in diesem Hause registriert. Die Schreibtischtäter der "Inspektion" bestimmten Haftbedingungen und Hungerrationen, Zwangsarbeit und Häftlingsstrafen. Hier wurde der systematische Terror in den Lagern bürokratisch geplant. Seit 1942 wurden von hier aus die Zwangsarbeit der KZ-Häftlinge für die deutsche Rüstungsindustrie zentral gelenkt, die Ausbeutung der Gefangenen und ihre "Vernichtung durch Arbeit" koordiniert.

Bis 1990 wurde das "T-Gebäude" von der Nationalen Volksarmee der DDR genutzt. Heute ist das Finanzamt Oranienburg Hauptnutzer des Gebäudes, in dem auch die Geschäftsstelle der Stiftung Brandenburgische Gedenkstätten seit 1993 ihren Sitz hat. Die Dokumentation "Die Inspektion der Konzentrationslager 1938 bis 1945 - Das System des Terrors" im ehemaligen Dienstzimmer des KZ-Inspekteurs Theodor Eicke informiert über die Geschichte des Hauses und die Funktion der KZ-Inspektion.